World War 1 Medals

World War 1 Medals were awarded to individuals who showed great bravery and courage in the enemy's presence.  Awards were also presented for distinguished service.

Some World War 1 Medals

Military Cross (1914- )

The Military Cross was introduced in 1914. It is issued to people who have shown acts of gallantry during land operations against the enemy.

It can also be given to people of any rank of the Armed Forces. Since 1931 it has also included RAF members who were involved in actions on the ground. 

It is also possible for the Military Cross to be awarded posthumously. 

Croix de Guerre (1915-18)

The Croix de Guerre, also known as the Oorlogskruis in Belgium, is presented in both France and Belgium. It could also be awarded to foreign military forces who were allied to France and Belgium. 

It can be presented to an individual who undertook an act of bravery during combat, but can also be issued to a particular unit. 

Distinguished Flying Cross (1918- )

This was introduced on 3rd June 1918 and was presented to RAF personnel for acts of bravery in operations against the enemy. 

After its introduction in 1918, it was only issued to commissioned officers and warrant officers, but during the WW2 it was also awarded to members of the Royal Artillery serving with the RAF on attachment. The award has been open to army and naval aviation officers since WW2.

Star (1914-15)

One of the World War 1 medals, The Star (1914-15) could have been issued to the officers and men of the British and Imperial forces who served between 5th August 1914 and 31st December 1915 in any area of the conflict.

British Medal (1914-20)

This medal could have been issued to officers and men of the Armed Forces who served between 5th August 1914 and 11th November 1918. 

To qualify for this award the possible recipient had to have done 28 days service, but it was awarded automatically to those who died before they completed 28 day service period. 

It was also issued to people who helped to clear mines from the sea after the conflict and who participated in operations in North and South Russia, the Eastern Baltic, Siberia, the Black Sea and the Caspian.

Victory Medal (1914-19)

This was issued to people who had received the 1914-1915 Star and the British War Medal.  The recipient had to have served between 5th August 1914 and 11th November 1918. 

Women who served in nursing homes and other auxiliary forces could qualify for this award and the other two medals. 

It was also awarded to people who were involved in the British Naval mission to Russia between 1919 and 1920 and to those who helped to clear mines in the North Sea between 11th November 1918 and 30th November 1919.

The three aforementioned World War 1 medals were sometimes referred to as Pip, Squeak and Wilfred.

> > World War I Medals